Can I use any bolt for a head bolt
    kitch428 Posts: 1,440, Reputation: 152
    Ultra Member

Nov 7, 2010, 12:30 PM

No. Do not try this.
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert

Nov 7, 2010, 12:55 PM

No because some head bolts are torque to yield bolts and some are not, some stretch and others don't.

If they're not then using Long Thread Rolling, Short thread Rolling, Helix or Shaft Bolts etc... are personal prefernce I believe. I am no expert I just heard some things.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Nov 7, 2010, 01:00 PM

No.
    jaygaffney Posts: 16, Reputation: 1

Nov 7, 2010, 06:26 PM
    Comment on kitch428's post
    I found out that I had a broken head bolt and I can't find one at any of my local auto parts store and none of the stock head bolt fit it either so I don't know what to do

Nov 7, 2010, 06:26 PM
    Comment on ITstudent2006's post
    I found out that I had a broken head bolt and I can't find one at any of my local auto parts store and none of the stock head bolt fit it either so I don't know what to do

Nov 7, 2010, 06:29 PM
    Comment on TxGreaseMonkey's post
    I tried the easy out and did not find a bolt left in so I tried to use a stock head bolt but does not thread and none of my local auto parts store have head bolts for my engine so I don't know what to do
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Nov 7, 2010, 06:37 PM

Give your local dealer a call.

Nov 7, 2010, 07:16 PM
    Comment on TxGreaseMonkey's post
    But if another stock bolt won't thread in just slides in and out how will I stock head bolt work from a dealer
    Networking Expert

Nov 8, 2010, 06:27 AM

Well to me it sounds like there's more wrong than just a bolt that won't fit. If you're local "dealer" not autoparts store, can't find you a bolt they should at least be able to see what your issue is.

What kind of engine are we looking at?

Nov 8, 2010, 12:17 PM