Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    poseidon Posts: 244, Reputation: 55

Nov 7, 2010, 02:43 AM
    Freedom of Information - For subscribers from USA
    Hi All,

Strange question possibly!!

It was difficult deciding which AMHD category niche to ask this question in.

I am a UK Citizen & live in the UK.

Even though I am not a US Citizen am I still entitled to apply for, and receive information & documents which have been released by the USA Government under their Freedom of Information Acts?

Any help & info will be greatly appreciated.

Poseidon
    smearcase Posts: 2,392, Reputation: 316
    Ultra Member

Nov 7, 2010, 03:47 AM

I am not an expert on this subject but the first thing you should do is to research the rules each agency has for FOIA requests, many of which are 20(?) pages long, or much more.
    They have an obligation to answer within a min. number of days--unless you fail to meet one of their requirements. The agencies have a legal staff available to ensure that your request meets their requirements (t's crossed etc). Most have 30 days to respond to you. If you fail to meet requirements, they get another 30 days for revised request etc. They can charge at a rate they consider reasonable for copies etc.
    American newspapers test the FOIA compliance periodically. They send reporters (posing as ordinary citizens) to areas they don't usually cover (so they are not recognized as newspaper reporters) and they request documents from government agencies. In many cases, they encounter a brick wall as if the law didn't even exist. They are frequently asked why they want the documents but the law says they can't do that.