Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Nikkisalyer Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 3, 2010, 10:32 AM
    Breaking apartment lease
    I signed a apartment lease yesterday in Texas, and I will like to back out of the lease today without paying a reletting fee of nearly 600 dollars. The landlord illegally changed my income on my application so that it would fit the requirement of renting. Though she was trying to be nice, I come to the realization that this will not be affordable being I am a college student. Can I somehow get out of this lease within this 24 hr period without paying?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 3, 2010, 10:37 AM

This is a tough one. You signed the lease knowing what the costs would be and knowing that the landlord had fudged the income. I think a court would require the penalty.

But talk to the landlord. Since its only one day and since the landlord probably doesn't want a tenant who will have problems paying he may let you out. If he does get the release in writing.
    Nikkisalyer Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 3, 2010, 10:41 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottGem View Post
    This is a tough one. You signed the lease knowing what the costs would be and knowing that the landlord had fudged the income. I think a court would require the penalty.

But talk to the landlord. Since its only one day and since the landlord probably doesn't want a tenant who will have problems paying he may let you out. If he does get the release in writing.
    ***Thank you! I am actually heading down there now to speak with her. I am hoping she works with me on this. Thank you for the response Scott!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 3, 2010, 10:43 AM

Good luck and keep us posted.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Nov 3, 2010, 11:03 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Nikkisalyer View Post