Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pharaoh2 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Nov 1, 2010, 02:56 PM
    Can a collection company refuse to payment check because it says "Principle"?
    I have student loan debts that have gone to collection and I have been paying them in full and on time for the last nine months. However, I checked my credit report and my scores have not improved and the company has been posting every month that I have not been paying them... defamed character? Inaccurate credit reporting? So, I had this brilliant idea to put the words "PRINCIPLE" on my September payment, the check has yet to be cashed it has been a month and a half! I sent my October payment out without that word on there and I expect that one to be cashed business as usual. I don't think that the September payment was lost in the mail because they would have been calling me for the payment and they haven't--I believe that the collection company doesn't want to cash the September "Principle" payment because they can't use any of it to pay for their fees it would have to go only to the balance. Is this legal? The collection company has a bad reputation nationwide for being shady and I wouldn't put it past them. P.S. I live in the U.S.
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Nov 1, 2010, 03:34 PM

Yes they can refuse to pay it if you write "principle" on it... you DO owe interest as well as fees and that is a big part of the loan. A bigger part now that you defaulted on your original obligation.

If its in Collection... they have a legal right to collect their fees IN ADDITION to the actual loan and accrued interest... you lost the ability to dictate much of anything when you defaulted on the original loan. And yes they can collect their fees first.