Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    vinnyvin99 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 28, 2010, 05:45 PM
    duo core and quad, what's the difference
    I'm just learning how to build comps. I want to upgrade my system to make it far superior in term of gaming, like for FFXIV which requires high performance rigs. I understand a little bit about what I need to upgrade on my weak Dell Insprion 530with the Celeron 2.20 GHz CPU, 2G of Ram. Only thing I did to it was added the Geforce 9400 graphics card. I've heard there are now 6 core AMD processors which I would like to have, but I think a quad core would do nicely. I know I need a AMD or AM3 motherboard if I go with a Phenom. My mobo supports up a intel i5 which is 4x core also I believe. My question is and the thing I do not understand is the term "bottleneck" I want or need more Ram would like to get up to 8g total. How does that work and is that what bottleneck mean? If you too much info running out of too small of a memory. I just decided to learn about comps about a week ago and this is about all I don't get. Please help! Any suggestions you have would also help me out. Thank you
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 28, 2010, 06:26 PM

I don't think a mobo with a Celeron would support any i5. And not all i5 are quads.

A bottleneck is a [lace where things slow down. Think of a three lane road that narrows to two lanes. Traffic moves more slowly as the road narrows. In terms of computers you can have the fastest processor available, but if you have a slow Internet connection it will cause things to slow down as it goes through that bottleneck.
    vinnyvin99 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 29, 2010, 02:14 PM