Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    NItro1 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2010, 09:17 PM
    Debt Collection, proof of debt?
    Today I got in the mail a document from the Lawyer that is suing me for money from a debt from bank of america. The packet included all the documents sent to them and to me. The "Proof" of debt that they are claiming is only 4 months of my account. The account is in the last 4 months before it was closed and deleted and given to collections. It does not include my original balance only my balance with interest and the amount of interest being put onto it. I am wondering if this is enough info to get a judgement on me?
    The packet does not include any info proving that I agreed to this card. All that is in the packet is the last 4 months of my account.
    I wish I had money for a attorney but I do not and I really need some help. I am just a college student who made some mistakes when he was young. Please help.

Also any recommendation will be great and greatly appreciated.

Truman
    bluesky4u2 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 27, 2010, 01:08 AM
    I am not an attorney but this is my honest recommendation on what I would do if I were you

In the city where you live is the lawyers bar association and I would call them immediately and ask for the number of the attorney that

1--does this kind of work
    2-- and works in the public law office of people that need assistance but can't afford an attorney

They will direct you to this office and when you go in they ask you to fill out forms proving your income so they can determine your eligability and it sounds like? You qualify?

Then sit down with someone who can tell you your options on what to do and then you go from there

REMEMBER WHATEVER YOU DO Don't CONTACT THE ATTORNEY WHERE YOU GOT THIS LETTER AND DEMAND FROM

First seek legal advice at the above place I mentioned there are places like this to help you