Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    DChadwick Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 26, 2010, 08:00 AM
    Summary Judgement Hearing in SC
    I have a Summary Judgement Hearing tomorrow and was wondering what will actually happen. Will I get a chance to speak? The judgement is on funeral expenses for my mother and I have been paying on it monthly to the funeral home; however, my husband has not lost his job and we are surviving on one income. Will they set up payment arrangements through the court or am I going to jail? Please Help!
    Gaylan Posts: 3, Reputation: 2

Oct 30, 2010, 04:09 PM
    I am no lawyer by any means, but did you respond to the complaint that you owed the debt? Debt is a really elusive issue and intentionally so. The fact is that most people have debt problems because they don't know how to respond to these debt collectors. Fact is MOST unsecured debts can be challenged. If my mother was buried, and I owed a debt to the funeral home, I would challenge them if only to accept a much lower monthly payment, or be forced with months of litigation. Most creditors just want to get their money, the best way is to offer what you can afford, if they decline it, then that is default on the creditor, and usually the remedy is forfeiture of their claim.

Summary Judgment on an unsecured debt can't really do much in some states. We do not have a debtors prison. Some creditors might try and take something of value that you might own in lieu. BUT I wouldn't give them anything without a serious fight.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 30, 2010, 04:45 PM