Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Autarkic Posts: 15, Reputation: 1

Oct 23, 2010, 08:34 AM
    Does my business have standing to sue my landlord for code violations?
    I am a business owner in PA who was leased a commercial space in a seven story building... basement level. We were forced to close down as a result of Landlord/Tenant dispute where my partner placed Rents into an escrow account because the building was not up to fire code... which is the sole responsibility of the landlord to rectify. That dispute is in litigation. However, the complaint was against my partner in his private capacity for breach of contract. Does my business have standing to sue for damages for loss of revenue, breach of contract, and negligence in order to recoup the losses resulting from the injury caused by the Landlord's non-compliance to local codes/regulations?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Oct 23, 2010, 08:54 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Autarkic View Post
    Does my business have standing to sue my landlord for code violations? ...my partner placed Rents into an escrow account due to the fact that the building was not up to fire code... However, the complaint was against my partner in his private capacity for breach of contract
    Hello A:

In a word, yes. But I don't know HOW you're going to go about it under the present circumstances. Your partnership needs a lawyer.

Assuming your legal arrangement with your partner is a GENERAL partnership, and the partnership entered into the lease, in terms of dealing with your landlord, your partner cannot act in his "private capacity". I don't know why he thought he could, or why the landlord bought into it, but the suit that is IN litigation sounds like the one you need to join and file a countersuit under, assuming your partner DIDN'T.

Given that your damages should be way more than the limit in small claims court, it can be bumped up to your district court.

excon