Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bobby19 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 2, 2007, 09:59 PM
    Meditation for Students
    Hey,

I am currently a university student looking to start meditation. My marks first term were not the greatest and I believe a lot of it can be attributed to the fact that I generally lack an ability to concentrate. When doing school work, unless I totally isolate myself from all possible distractions (cubical in a library), I cannot study. Even then so, my mind tends to wander. Also, I find that my memory is not the greatest.

I have started to do some Zen meditation. I just wanted to know if there are any other types of meditations I could try that would help calm my mind and help me in concentration and memory?

Thanks
    JoeCanada76 Posts: 6,669, Reputation: 1707
    Uber Member

Jan 2, 2007, 10:24 PM
    There are all kinds of different types of meditations. There are many variations. There are many things that you could do yourself to see what works best for you.

There is focusing on breathing.
    There is focusing on all your body parts.
    There is mantra.
    There is imagination. Using your minds eye.
    Every day meditation, every living experience is a meditation. Walking, cooking, cleaning. Everything is a state of being.

I think it is better to learn one method and good at one method. It may take several weeks to notice a big improvement. Learn how to focus and meditate using the method you have now and then when you feel good and confident about the changes then try another kind. I suggest after some practise your able to use several different forms of meditation. Make it a regular routine. How much time do you dedicate to meditation. Increase the amount of meditation you do every week.

Joe
    8Powell8 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 6, 2007, 12:06 PM
    Jesushelper has a wonderful point, and allow me to elaborate on some of the things that he/she mentions:

Focus on breathing: