Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    multimastery Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Jan 2, 2007, 12:04 PM
    Both Employee and Independent Contractor...
    How do I properly file my taxes if I worked as an Employee and an Independent Contractor at various times throughout the year?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 2, 2007, 12:13 PM
    Use a Schedule C to report 1099 income.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 2, 2007, 12:18 PM
    Correct! A Form 1040 for the W-2, with Schedule C and SE attached for the contractor income.

Jan 3, 2007, 01:15 PM
    Thanks for the helpful answers!

... Also I made less than I spent in business so I want to possibly claim a loss. Will this help to lower my overall personal tax liability by deducting legitimate business deductions and claiming a loss.

... And if I do end up owing, will I be double-taxed i.e. personal and business or just liable for only one.

(sorry for all the questions)

Thanks Again :-)

Jan 3, 2007, 01:30 PM
    You can enter legitimate business expenses on the Schedule C. The result will be a net income (or loss) which is then transferred to the 1040. Resulting in a decrease in taxable income. Your tax liability is then calculated on the total taxable income.

One other thing to consider is how you run this business. Generally the IRS considers it a valid business if you make a profit in 3 of the first 5 years. Otherwise they may rule it as a hobby. If you claim a lot of losses, you have to prove you are actually operating as a business (advertising, maintaining a business phone, separate accounts etc.). If you do you may get past the 3 of 5 rule.
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 3, 2007, 03:05 PM
    The 3-in-5 rule is NOT etched in stone. Some businesses, like tax preparation, are very competitive and hard to show a profit until you build a client base.