Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    omgkatie Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Sep 24, 2010, 11:31 AM
    Employer paid taxes being paid by employee
    I started with a new company as an employee
    I am a loan officer
    I wanted to be an independent contractor as I have always been that in the past but they said I could not do so
    They are now requiring me to pay the employer taxes (FICA 6.2%, Medicare 1.45%, Fed/state unemployment 1% and 4.35% for payroll processing, 401k match, har/admin, state and local taxes) as well as my normal employee taxes.
    They also charge an accountng admin fee on each transaction I do.
    Is this legal?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Sep 24, 2010, 11:46 AM

You're asking if requiring you to pay the your portion of FICA is legal? Of course - to do otherwise would be illegal. The good news is that your employer is paying half of your total SS tax, whereas if you were a self-employed contractor you would have to pay the full amount yourself. As for them charging you for payrol processing and a transaction fee - that I can't answer to. Do you have an employment contract that specifies this?

Sep 24, 2010, 01:26 PM
    No I am asking why am I paying their portion as well as mine. They are having me pay both portions employee and employer.
    Expert

Sep 24, 2010, 01:39 PM

So they're taking out 12.9% for Social security plus 2.9% for medicaire from your paycheck (i.e. both employer's and employee's portions), and that's what it says on your pay stub? That makes no sense at all. Please confirm that this is what they're doing.

Also, I'm wondering if perhaps you are actually an employee of a "body shop" which bills the client for your services, and in turn pays you, and that what you are talking about is how much the body shop keeps from their billing of the client?

Sep 24, 2010, 01:42 PM
    Comment on ebaines's post
    Yes! Both employers and employee portions!
    No a loan officer
    Expert