Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fornaught Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 11, 2010, 12:26 PM
    My girlfriend says she is confused and needs space?
    I'll try to be as brief as possible. My girlfriend (of just under 2 years) and I decided to go on a break for a month. For both of us, this has been the healthiest/longest relationship (I'm 24, she's 22). While we fight occasionally, it has been really, really good (talked about moving together once we're done school etc.) This summer we both studied abroad, and we handled it very well (she had some trust issues early on in the relationship but by this point we were very solid). The problems came about once she came back from abroad. I am a medical student and she is a graduating senior, so both of us have time commitments etc. As she came back, I was getting ready to start school again (it's an hour away from our hometown, where we grew up together). This is where I've now noticed she was more distant, and we began having really stupid silly fights. It comes to us blowing up, and her explaining how she is confused (about life) and needs to find out who she is. Basically, she is saying she still loves me and wants me in her life, but for now she can't use me as a crutch anymore. I'm pretty sure her being abroad (and finally with friends she likes since she doesn't like hers at home, and out of her living situation) gave her a reminder of what single life was like (she was faithful I have no doubt, I mean just independence). Her older sister is also getting married, and I think wedding dress shopping (day before we fought) gave her an "Oh S****" moment, thinking I may be the final guy in her life. I was a mess, but am better now. I try to only let her initiate conversation, and this has been going on for about 2 weeks. Any suggestions or comments or thoughts?
    Kitkat22 Posts: 6,302, Reputation: 1191
    Uber Member

Sep 11, 2010, 01:06 PM

She's telling you in a kind way that