Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lylnessa0123 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 25, 2010, 06:12 PM
    Where do I file for custody of my child ?
    I'm new to Florida and I'm trying to file for full custody of my son. His father is a drug addict and very abusive. Should I have trouble getting full custody.. it shows all this on his record. He is living in baltimore md. Where should I go file for full custody at in Florida. Im living in Sarasota fl
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Aug 25, 2010, 06:43 PM

How long have you lived in Florida?
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Aug 26, 2010, 10:00 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by lylnessa0123 View Post
    im new to florida and im trying to file for full custody of my son. His father is a drug addict and very abusive. Should i have trouble getting full custody..it shows all this on his record. He is living in baltimore md. Where should i go file for full custody at in Florida. Im living in Sarasota fl
    As was already asked, how long have you been a Florida resident? Some states have residency requirements - you have to live there for a certain amount of days before you are considered a resident of that state.

Are you trying to get sole legal and physical custody? In order to start the court proceedings, you would go to your county courthouse and file the appropriate paperwork. If you think that the father is a danger to the child, file for sole custody and explain your reasoning, just as you have done here - explain that he has a criminal history and you do not feel your child would be safe under his care.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

As a mother of a unborn child can I file for custody of my own? [ 1 Answers ]