Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    supercoolman Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 25, 2010, 04:16 PM
    Landlord won't give a copy of credit report
    I just found a job in California after I graduated as a Canadian citizen from University of Toronto. I was looking around for a 1 bedroom apartment to rent. I submitted a rental application to an apartment management agent. I don't have SSN yet since I hasn't live in US for more than 10 days after I got my VISA, but the agent charged me $45 for credit check and said that because I am Canadian, so I have to pay extra $10 when any normal US citizen pays $35 only. I requested a copy of the credit report on me before she charged me and she said no problem. Few hours after, she said my credit check shows that I'm good and they have accepted my rental application. I then requested a copy of my credit report, which she had used to accept my credit check, but she made an excuse said that credit report will only be available when her manager comes to work a few days after on a Monday in the afternoon. That's fine with me, I could come in on Monday to get the overpriced credit report. However, I found another place to rent at a reasonable price and canceled my application before that Monday. I think I am still entitled to get a copy of my credit report since they charged my $10 more just because I am a Canadian, but they made a second excuse saying that everyone including the manager doesn't have access to my credit report. What should I do now?
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Aug 25, 2010, 04:56 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by supercoolman View Post
    What should I do now?
    Hello s:

Nothing. Yes, they made a verbal agreement to give you a copy, but other than that, they have no legal obligation for sharing that information with you. So, unless you want to sue them for $45, forget about it.

You CAN get a FREE copy of your credit report by visiting annualcreditreport.com.

excon