Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mozem Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 20, 2010, 04:18 PM
    Been burgled insurance company may not pay out
    Im a student in stoke on trent (uk) and my house has damp/mold so to get rid of the smell id opened the window during the day while I was home, at around 8:30pm (still light outside) I decided to pop to the shop and get a few things for shopping, it took me longer than I thought and when I came home I opened the door and realised I had been burgled.

Most my electronics were gone my PC, laptop, TV, nintendo ds and xbox had all been stolen. I called the police who arrived around 11:30 and the day later the forensics people came but couldn't find anything useful since they said the surface had been wiped and the police said they suspect it may be the neighbours or some one.

Since id only moved in recently I never knew anyone I then decided to call my insurance company. A few days later I got intouch again and was told I was assigned a claims manager and then contacted a few days again and told that some one would come visit me. The person came and told me everything seemed OK and that he had received my reciepts etc and took a picture of the window and checked how easily accessible it was then informed me that the insurance company may be reluctant to pay out on my xbox since they have had issues with covering them and he would double check. Few days later he told me that he had checked and good news the xbox was covered but was awaiting to get intouch with the police for a police report this was a week and a half ago.

Today he emailed me to inform me he is still awaiting to get intouch with the police since they have not gotten back to him but also said that there may be an issue with the claim since my insurance stipulates that I take #

"You must at all times

a) take all reasonable steps to prevent accident, loss and damage