Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    spartans84 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Aug 13, 2010, 07:36 AM
    My mom won't let me quit soccer
    I'm a sophomore in high school and I'm on the varsity soccer team. I've lost my passion for soccer and its high stress to play because we practice 6 hours everyday during the summer until October. I just want out but my mom says working out at the local gym isn't enough to replace soccer. She says if I want to quit then I have to sell my xbox and play tennis and volunteer at least once a week which I DEFINITELY DON'T WANT TO DO. What should I do to convince her to let me quit without selling my xbox or playing tennis? She says I'm going down a destructive path if I quit which makes absolutely no sense to me... I'm fine with volunteering and I WILL workout every other day AT LEAST... I'm also going to do track in the Spring.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Aug 13, 2010, 07:40 AM

May I answer a question with a question?

Why is your mother so hung up on you participating in varsity soccer?

Aug 13, 2010, 07:44 AM

I honestly have no idea...
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Aug 13, 2010, 07:47 AM

In my case it was music - I was somewhat talented but my parents pushed and pushed. I also never knew why.

It sounds like you will be "punished" if you quit and that makes no sense - at least to me. Have you asked her or is that pointless?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Aug 13, 2010, 07:47 AM

I agree with your mom that once you committed to the season you need to follow through. If you want to quit after the season is over, that's another thing and you should be allowed to.

Sounds to me, however, that mom thinks you spend too much time with your Xbox and not enough time exercising your body.
    spitvenom Posts: 1,266, Reputation: 373
    Ultra Member

Aug 13, 2010, 07:49 AM