Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    firewalker Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 20, 2006, 02:34 PM
    Toilet bubbles
    I built my house a little over a year ago, and did everything myself to save money, however I am not a professional plumber. I am located in the country, so I did not pull any permits. My plumbing has worked fine up until about a month ago. My drain starts at the kitchen sink, and runs 20' in 2" PVC where it ties into the tub, from there it is 4" PVC 2' to the toilet, 6' to lavatory which has the only roof vent, another 6' to the washer, and into 1 500 gal septic tank, with 200' field line. The problem is when the tub, or washer is draining the toilet has began bubbling, logic tells me that my roof vent is clogged, so I get on the roof and blow through it, the toilet bubbles. To check it I disconnect the trap under the lavatory and blow again, air flows freely. Confused I disconnect my kitchen trap as well, and begin draining a full tub, the toilet still bubbles. How can it still bubble with free flowing vents up and down stream?
    rsimplicio Posts: 20, Reputation: 3

Dec 20, 2006, 11:33 PM
    First off, congratulations on building your own house! That must be one heck of a sense of accomplishment. I'm envious!

If I'm reading this correctly:

1. Kitchen sink to tub is 2", bath to toilet is 4" (how big is the tub trap & drain?), toilet to lav is 4" (I'm assuming the lav trap, drain, and vent are less than 4", probably 2"), 4" to laundry (is this a standpipe or sink?), and 4" out to the septic tank.
    2. What size is the vent pipe out of the roof?
    3. I have a feeling the problem may be in that there is only 2' between the tub and toilet, and that you have it arranged tub-->toilet-->lav instead of tub-->lav-->toilet.