Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fafe247 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 2, 2010, 01:15 PM
    Salary law with no benefits
    I have just been given a manager position and put on sarary I am working 76 hrs one week and 68 the other week.. and was paid only a total of 80 when I spoke to my boss he said that's what salary is... now let me remind you I get no benefits... at all and my vacation pay is half of my salary pay and he said to me because I have no college eduation oh yeah did I mention no breaks no 15 or hour lunch... so just wondering is this legal and what should I do ?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 2, 2010, 05:25 PM

Salary is just that, a certain amount of pay regardless of how many hours you work a week.

If you agreed to work too cheap that is your problem.

But working 70 hours a week is about normal for a lot of management. 80 is pushing it but I did it a lot when I was a younger manager.

And no lunch has to be 30 min, not a hour by law. And there is no requirements for other benefits , even vacation,

Sounds as if they are trying to get you very very cheap, so I would start looking for a better paying job.
    Devorameira Posts: 2,461, Reputation: 981
    Ultra Member

Aug 17, 2010, 03:03 PM

He may or may not be operating within the law, but I personally wouldn't cope with it.

Go find a job that pays you a set hourly wage with benefits.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Salary Labor Law [ 7 Answers ]

I am a salary employee. It is set that I work 45 hours per week. My wage is figured on 8 hours of work with an hour paid break. I am an evening supervisor at a conveinence store in North Dakota. Am I entitled to some type of overtime pay for working more that 45 hours? For example by the end of...

Salary Labor Law [ 1 Answers ]