Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SirJaymz Posts: 22, Reputation: 1

Jul 30, 2010, 03:22 PM
    A novice's sewing project, need tips
    I'm making a superhero style cape for a friend. I've decided to make the super shield (superman style shield logo, but with different colors) out of satin to give it just a little shine. I've created a pattern for cutting the shield parts from, but I have very little experience sewing. I was wondering if anyone had any tips so that this part of the cape would come out really nice. i.e. not show a ton of stitching on top all across the parts and details of the emblem. I don't mind a row around the outside of it, but I was really hoping to overlay the 'S' color over top of the shield itself without all the stitches sewing. No idea if its even practical for a novice... but I figured I'd ask and hope for the best. :)
    unluckynut Posts: 294, Reputation: 23

Jul 31, 2010, 07:55 PM

If your using satin for the "s"n the shield you are making it kind of hard for yourself. Why not make the "s" out of felt and glue it on top of the shield. They way special glue you can use. If you feel you have to use satin then use the felt as a base and cover it with the satin and then glue it on. You can use a whip stitch if you feel the glue is not good enough.

Aug 1, 2010, 06:39 PM

I wanted it to be shiny. The inside liner which is already shiny will double as the overlay for the shield. Thus I bought the same type of product for the shield color. I guess I should have asked this question before I bought materials. : /

Aug 2, 2010, 09:52 PM

The shiny material is harder to sew. But if you cover some other fabric like the felt with that stuff it should be OK. Cut out the s and then cover it with the shiny and glue it down on the back of the felt. Maybe you could used the iron facing on the back of the s it will stablize the material too. You go girl!

Aug 3, 2010, 07:22 PM