Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    grrr_4ever Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jul 23, 2010, 05:26 AM
    I want to know what type of carrots are good for a project on growth patterns?
    Okay so I am doing a science fair project but I need to plant during the summer as in next week. My climate really only permits planting of carrots more towards this time. I need to find the right species of carrot for my project in order to make it work well and to know the right kind oof nutrients. I am trying to determineif growing things naturally really beats outthe agribusiness way of pesticides. I am uncertain of the type because there are so many and I have no background or previous knowledge of botany. I was hoping for maybe a point in the right direction. Do keep in mind that I live in zone 8-10 on a hardiness map and my specic area is 8b and what time of year it is
    I am testing for the following things(please tell me if you think I need more quanitative or qualitative data)
    *mass
    *length
    *rate of matuirty
    *root growth
    *root pattern
    *color
    I am looking into nutrient test but that is a dodgy science at best and I don't hold much faith to it (the whole margine is better for you fiasco was nutrionists and can anyone say trans fats)
    Anywhoo, if you have question or need more info I will be sure to provide
    I am not trying to find a quick answer but even a point in the wrong or right direction would be helpful I will be checking every day usually around 5 please hurry
    Thanks
    grrr_4ever
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Jul 23, 2010, 01:02 PM
    Hi, grrr_4ever!

Does the project have to be about carrots, please? I ask because there are other types of vegetables that are easier to grow.

Thanks!
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jul 23, 2010, 01:12 PM

I suggest Nantes.

Nantes Carrots :: Harvest to Table
    grrr_4ever Posts: 3, Reputation: 1