Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tea09 Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Jul 20, 2010, 10:42 PM
    Hit and run
    I accidentally scrubbed a car at a shopping complex. I usually do not park close to other cars because I'm a fairly new driver and I'm a horrible parker, however today there was a heat advisory and it was scorching hot, so I wanted to get as close as possibe... then bam! This parking spot is right up front. The space was tight and as I was backing out I scrubbed the side of their car with the front of mine. I didn't know the owner and had no idea what store they might be in. the damage was not horrible... no denting just a scratch. My car is a dark color and thiers was white, a streak of my car's color is on thiers. I panicked and I forgot to leave a note. I don't know it there were any willing witnesses or anything but a lot of online blogs said I should confess to the crime at hand... my questions are...
    1.if I confess will I immediately be thrown in jail?
    2.how would I go about confessing?
    3.who would I confess to?
    4.if I do confess and the person reports the incident later could I ask that the issue be handled outside of court?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jul 21, 2010, 04:34 AM

I don't think you have any options, tea, unless you got there license number you don't know them from a hole in the ground. How are you going to trace them to confess? You can go to the local police division and tell them your story. Maybe the other people reported it to the police, perhaps they didn't even notice the scratch and don't care.

This all hinges on how ethical you are.

Tick
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jul 21, 2010, 11:21 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by tea09 View Post