Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    septemberlove Posts: 30, Reputation: 11

Jul 11, 2010, 03:38 PM
    What do you desire/expect from your child's teacher?
    I am a preschool teacher (ages 3 and 4) and am trying to revamp my units/themes and classroom order.

As a parent, what would you love to see from your child's preschool teacher in regards to classroom management, subjects discussed, and activities done?

Thanks!
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Jul 11, 2010, 07:07 PM
    Hi, septemberlove!

Is there already a curriculum that you're required to follow, please?

Thanks!
    Kitkat22 Posts: 6,302, Reputation: 1191
    Uber Member

Jul 11, 2010, 08:26 PM

I worked in pre school as an aide and a substitute. Most parents expect the children to do drawings. And projects such as learning to print their name on a small placard to place above their
    Coat space or on their cubbies.

Songs.. parents love it when their children sing the songs they learned. If you have a numbered round carpet which we always called story carpet let them memorize and recognize their number they sit on.

A good report about how good they were at breakfast or lunch is always good to hear. If you have center time it's a great time to work with each child individually on numbers or problems. The parents want to love the child's teacher and by teaching them well you will gain their respect.

We always had nutritious snacks they could have after nap time. Nothing sweet as you already know. Crackers and cheese or jello and graham crackers the cafeteria workers always made for us. I know you know all this.

I'll bet you're a great teacher. I miss it.
    septemberlove Posts: 30, Reputation: 11

Jul 12, 2010, 04:49 AM
    Comment on Clough's post