Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    the_lonely_spouse1 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jul 11, 2010, 09:46 AM
    Marriage intimacy problems only after a year of marriage
    Hello,

It is my first time on this web site and I am hoping to express my frustration and possibly share my painful experience with somebody who can help me with advice.

My husband and I have been dating for 3 years and been married for one year! Ever since I moved into his house he has been acting emotionally distant sometimes and he started to reject making love to me, saying that he is not in the mood or that it is not the right time. This has been happening for a year and I have been very hurt and frustrated, feeling not loved by him. We have talked about this and every time he gave me no answer. He said he does not know what is going on with him and he is depressed.

I am starting to lose my hope and it is very difficult for me to even stay connected emotionally with him when he does not want me! I know he is not cheating on me and otherwise we have a wonderful relationship and he is a very good attentive man.

I just do not understand his lack of interest in intimacy. Please help me with some feedback on common shared experiences or opinions about my husbands lack of interest!

Thank you!

redhed35 Posts: 4,221, Reputation: 1910
    Ultra Member

Jul 11, 2010, 10:01 AM

The first year of marriage is the hardest,or so they say,your both adjusting and finding a new normal with added responsibility.

He says he feels depressed?

Has he seen a doctor?

Will he see a doctor?

Time to sit down and talk,sometimes you have to MAKE time to make love,and it can take a conscious effort on both sides.

Marriage takes work,its not easy,but the benefits of working together pay huge dividends.

There are three parts to your marriage,you,him,and the marriage itself,all three need attention.