Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ozy76 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 3, 2010, 02:08 AM
    Can I get a labrador?
    My situation is like this:
    I always wanted a lab.
    But I have a few problems about it:
    The place where I live isn't quite an urban area but isn't quite a suburb.
    I do not live in a house but in a medium size apartment without a yard.
    However, right next to my apartment is a big park and a mile away is even a forest so walking him 4 times a day and giving him enough exercise would be no problem (2 hours a day min if it doesn't rain)).
    I'm a student and my college is distant about 15-20 min drive from my home.
    The problem is that at 65% percent of the time I live alone (my father works on a cruiser ship and my mother often goes to the ship with him).
    So... I obviously have to go to college and that means leaving a dog alone 3-4 times a week for 3, 4 sometimes in rare occasions maybe even 6 hours.
    And I would be leaving him for that long during the night (once a week) when I would go out and have some fun.
    My question is this:
    Would dog get separation anxiety and trash my place?
    Would he eat the chairs, shoes and table?
    I really want a lab but I don't want to get him if he would be unhappy with his life.
    Any sound advice would be great
    Aurora_Bell Posts: 4,193, Reputation: 822
    Dogs Expert

Jun 3, 2010, 01:11 PM

Any dog can suffer from separation anxiety, and while the longest you should leave a dog alone would be 8 hours, they do the most damage with in the first 1/2 hour.

Labs are high energy and demanding. They require lots of one on one as well as other dog socialization. Would you be able to take the dog to obedience classes?

Also something to think about is, would you get an older dog or a puppy? Puppies need lots of time with their owner to bond and be properly socialized. 3-4 hours a day wouldn't be too terrible, but spending a night away from home would be a big no-no.