Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mikeyr56 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 12, 2010, 10:30 PM
    If I am a independent contractor and I get fired do I still get paid?
    I was fired as an independent contractor yesterday for no reason. I fulfilled my obligation to the employer as far as the work goes. She is now telling me that she does not have to pay me and that I have no right to the money to be collected. I deliver a small newspaper to about 45 convenience stores. Last Thursday I delivered a little over 1000 papers to these stores and it took me about 8 to 9 hrs to do. We are paid every Thursday when we deliver a new edition, which I did. The vendors pay us for the previous week in cash. We are to take our pay and give the rest to the owner of the company. Well now that I have been terminated I have no way of collecting my pay. Can she do that to me. I invested time and gas money to do this job, which by the way I love to do.
    Stringer Posts: 3,733, Reputation: 770
    Business Expert

May 12, 2010, 10:45 PM

Do you have any type of a written contract? If you do then you have that as an asset.

In any case if you performed your duties then you should be paid. But as an independent contractor you will not receive any unemployment compensation.
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

May 12, 2010, 10:50 PM
    Hi, mikeyr56!

If the vendors pay you in cash, then that would lessen a "paper trail".

However, do the vendors need to sign anything as to how many papers were delivered and whether they were delivered?

Thanks!

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Independent Contractor not being paid! [ 3 Answers ]