Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mmm49660 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

May 9, 2010, 07:47 PM
    I have a laptop, Sony VAIO VGN-FW235J, that's got a black screen at start-up.
    I turn on the laptop and all I get is black screen. It does not do anything else no matter what I do. Already tried ac power without battery, holding power button for 20 and 50 secconds, reseating the RAM and hard drive, pressing F keys but won't even go into bios or nothing just getting black screen. Any suggestions before I go to tech. I do have an Associates in Networking so I'm not a novice but I've only been dealing with pc's since 2000.
    seahwk83 Posts: 3,276, Reputation: 212
    Ultra Member

May 10, 2010, 03:40 PM

Can try and use an external monitor till can get to service. You have done all the steps any tech would have taken you through with any phone support before they would setup a service call for the laptop.
    BlackVY Posts: 823, Reputation: 154

May 10, 2010, 04:05 PM

Does the laptop actually boot up, like do the lights come on and the fan starts working and stuff? If it does, it could be a faulty screen, so like the above advice, try an external monitor and see if that works. But then again, I think that would depend on if you have the right graphics card installed and up-to-date, but you sound like you know what you are doing, so good luck.

I also think it is possible to just replace the screen if you have a popular brand of laptop, as there are some replacements on eBay.
    TheCSharpGuy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Aug 5, 2010, 06:12 PM
    I had the same problem with my Vaio VGN FW235J.
    I suspect a power delivery problem with the motherboard.
    Returned it to Sony Repair and the quote for repair exceeded the cost of the notebook.
    Unfortunately, I am just out of the 1 year Sony warranty period.
    A few months back a co-worker had the same failure on her VGN FW235j.
    Perhaps a defect in this Sony Vaio model?