Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    unemployed33 Posts: 6, Reputation: 0

May 4, 2010, 08:58 AM
    Fired on my 89th day
    I was working for a small cpa firm with a single owner as an office manager. Yesterday, on my 89th day, I was told that I was getting fired. The reason that was given to me was that I did not get fingerprinted to be registered as an investment assistant. Here are the facts:

It was never discussed with me upon my hiring that he would like for me to be registered as an investment assistant. He asked me to get fingerprinted a few weeks in. But at the time, he also said that it was not urgent because we were going to be swamped with tax work.

Our complete focus was on tax work up until April 15th, after which our immediate focus and last real important deadline was April 30th for our clients payroll taxes.

He has very little investment work and my registration as an investment advisor up until that point was absolutely not needed.

I am a graduate of a top ranking business school and had significant work experience, yet I was grossly underpaid ($14/hr), compared to past earnings as I was told that I would receive a bonus after tax season which bring that around to $21/hr (which I never received). Also, we had discussed long term plans of me buying out his practice once I was licensed as a CPA which is why I took the lower pay.

We never signed ANY contract when I began working and still had no contract in place, nor was any probationary period verbally discussed.

I did my job well and never heard a single complaint from him or heard him voice any displeasure of my work at any point in time, Nor was the fingerprint issue discussed as fireable offense or discussed as an urgent issue. On the contrary, it was downplayed often as when I would attempt to discuss his investment business, his response was routinely "we'll worry about that after April 30th."