Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    texasrider4u04 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Dec 5, 2006, 02:34 PM
    Garnishment
    Hello All,

I recently had my bank accounts frozen and my bank card closed because of child support. I have been paying since 1993 and I recently switch jobs and informed the Child Support people in California of this. They sent the information to the wrong address and it went unpaid for three months. The problem is there is over $70,000 in my account and it was frozen for $921.00. I asked why didn't you contact me and the reply was it's my responsibility to insure payment and California has to many cases to call one guy. In the meantime I'm unable to withdraw funds for my other obligations.

Is there a way I can stop this from happening again. I know plenty of guys that don't even pay support and this is not fair to someone who does! I'm currently working in Iraq so I don't receive my paystubs on a regular basis and I'm not a resident of California!

Thanks,

Not a Deadbeat Dad:mad:
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 5, 2006, 04:12 PM
    I don't mean this wrong, but if the child supporet was not coming out of your pay automatically, you know how much it is suppose to be, you should have sent it, and aftrer one month you should have known it was due,

We have to take some responsibility for our own actions, you owe it, you know it is due each month, you got plenty of money in the bank, you should have wrote them a check for it and not had to worry.

Dec 5, 2006, 04:38 PM
    I know this Chuck and your right, however, I'm asking is there a way to stop them from taking this route if a guy IS and HAS been paying. Again, since I am in Iraq (contractor) I don't get a weekly pay stub and the one I received a few days ago I noticed my child support payment wasn't included.