Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    natashaphilip Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Apr 21, 2010, 10:06 AM
    I want your thoughts on skin lightening for my university project
    Hi everyone,

I'm a student at the University of Leeds in the UK and I'm doing a project which involves making a documentary on a topical issue.

I've chosen to do mine on skin lightening and the lengths some people will go to in order to get lighter skin.

I'd appreciate it if you could all post your thoughts on this issue. I understand it's most popular amongst black and Asian people, but I'd love to hear all your thoughts, regardless of your race.

If you could answer some or all of the questions below, it would be great:

1) What are your general thoughts on skin lightening? Do you agree with it or do you think it is pointless/ridiculous?

2) Have you ever lightened your skin before using creams, peels, etc? Would you ever consider doing it?

3) Have any of you tried skin lightening and found it to be successful? Have any of you had a bad reaction to it or some other horrific story to tell?

4) Why do you think people want to lighten their skin in the first place?

5) Do you think skin lightening products should be banned or made illegal? Or do you think they are the same as Western countries selling tanning products?

If you could give me any feedback on the issue, it would be much appreciated. I'd love to hear what you all think. Your answers will be put into my documentary project, which will only be seen by my lecturer.

If you could all also give me an indication of where you're from and your age, that would be great. I'd like to get a broad range of answers from people of different ages and from different countries/cultures.

If you have any other questions or want to send me your answers in private, please don't hesitate to e-mail me at EMAIL REMOVED.

Thanks a lot,
    Natasha
    fairr Posts: 285, Reputation: 6

Apr 21, 2010, 10:45 AM