Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Clough Posts: 26,677, Reputation: 1649
    Uber Member

Apr 13, 2010, 11:54 PM
    Too Old to Learn Math?
    Hi, All!

Okay, I hate to admit it. But, I'm definitely getting middle aged here. Actually feel kind of elderly with the numerous health problems that I've had over the past year. But, I'll get over those...

I've never been good at math. I think that it's because I never really tried that hard at it, though.

I've also heard that the ones who make the major contributions in the mathematics field have been under the age of 30.

Too old to learn higher mathematics skills now? I don't know...

Opinions, please?

Thanks!
    galactus Posts: 2,271, Reputation: 282
    Ultra Member

Apr 14, 2010, 03:29 AM

No, it is certainly not too late. Like anything else, it is best to start young, but this does not mean you can not learn math. I did not start until I was over 30. Now, I have my Masters in Applied Math. Do we expect to make some Earth-shattering contribution like solving the Riemann Hypothesis? Of course not. But one should never say, "I am too old now". That is not a good way to look at things.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Apr 14, 2010, 05:51 AM
    Nope, never too late. I couldn't add 2+2 unless my shoes and socks were off when I was in school. I went to college at the age of 38 and had to start with basic math. I am now... much older, and can do complicated medication dosage calculations with ease.

Sometimes I think, for some of us, we are more focused the older we get. We can analyze better, and our critical thinking skills are more honed.
    NeedKarma Posts: 10,635, Reputation: 1706
    Uber Member

Apr 14, 2010, 06:01 AM
    With the advent of very good distance learning methods and free lessons the option to learn is easier than ever. In school it was a structured environment, as an adult at home it's all about self-discipline.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert