Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MirandaS13 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 12, 2010, 11:30 AM
    My mom passed away. I'm a 21yr old student with no insurance. What can I do?
    My mom passed away in March. She and my dad are divorced, and my dad is covered under my step-mom's insurance. I can't get covered by my step-mom's insurance, and my mom had no insurance when she passed. I'm a 21yr old student with asthma and I get chronic bronchitis. I can't keep going to the emergency room every time I get sick. What kind of benefits are there out there for me?
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Apr 12, 2010, 11:41 AM

Why can't you be added to your step mother's insurance as her step child?

Does your school offer anything? My school has a health clinic. Seeing the dr is free, so that would be better than the emergency room. They also might be able to tell you about more help in your area.

Also, do you have a job? If not, I'd start looking for one with benefits.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 12, 2010, 01:54 PM

Now that your mom has passed ( I am sorry) your dad is or would be the custodial parent had you still been a minor,
    So even if he had not been required to furnish insurance at this point and time he will be able to now while you are still a student.

And step parents policies ( at least those though employers will cover step children.

So your step mother needs to ask to have you added to her policy. Now this may cost a considerable amount of money, Are you or the dad able to help with this ?

I know for my work policy, to insure me is one price, to add a wife is about 200 more a month, and to add a child is another 200 or so a month. So it would cost most likely somewhere in that range to add you to her policy.