Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Gibbsguy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 7, 2010, 11:30 AM
    Can my boss make me pay for a door I accidentally damaged?
    I work in construction and I accidentally dented a door, can he make me pay for it or deduct the pay right from my check?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Apr 7, 2010, 11:30 AM
    Depends on your contract of employment.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 7, 2010, 06:32 PM

Depends on several things, if they can't make you pay, they can merely fire you if you don't of course.

So much would depend on how it happened. But making an employee pay for items they damage in a customers home is fairly common
    sohotitsscary Posts: 91, Reputation: 5

Apr 7, 2010, 06:47 PM

No a boss can't do that!! That's what insurance is for... what if the door had fallen on you would he make you pay for it then!!

Can he prove you did it?

Humans spend best part of their lives worrying about things that never happen so don't worry about it unless he tells you different

If you want you can blame me and I'll tell him what he can do with his bandy door, just say a drunk irish chick did it
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Apr 7, 2010, 07:01 PM

Accidents happen and insurance is something to look in to, but the bottom line is, can you afford to be unemployed in today's economy?

How much is the door? Is it worth getting fired for? That's the main question.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Apr 7, 2010, 07:04 PM

Hello G:

There is no law that prevents him from making you pay.

excon
    Expert

Apr 7, 2010, 07:34 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by sohotitsscary View Post
    no a boss can't do that!!! thats what insurance is for .... what if the door had fallen on you would he make you pay for it then!!!

can he prove you did it??