Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ldyothelk615 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 2, 2010, 06:25 PM
    My b/f needs spiritual freedom from his parents, help!
    My boyfriend and I grew up in a very harsh Puritan-like Protestant church where we met in our teens. We dated for a while and then decided to break up before college, even though we were still in love. We both left the church in our early adulthood when we started attending separate colleges and had exposure to other ways of thinking and other religions. I graduated from art school and returned home and he decided to join the Navy, but our love reunited us after 5 years of separation and we have found that we have a closer spiritual bond than anything we could have imagined as teenagers. We both attend Buddhist temples and engage in alternative spiritual practices and were encouraged to find that we found it on our own instead of one dragging the other one into it. Our love and devotion to each other has become that much more powerful and reassuring. When he gets back from the Navy, we will be moving in together while he goes back to school, and will be officially engaged soon after.

But, his parents are still deeply embedded in the religion we left. My parents have come to accept that I have gone a different way and are thankful that I am still a spiritual person, even if I have a different belief system. On the other hand, his dad is a preacher and his mom is a very devoted preacher's wife. Every time he calls home and his dad picks up the phone he tries to get into some kind of religious debate. My boyfriend is a very loving and soft spoken person and will express his views with strength, but kindness as his dad will deliver very harsh and angry close-minded views. I'm sure you can imagine the clash of Eastern and Western thinking over the phone...