Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Apr 1, 2010, 01:24 PM
    Patchwork school bag
    Hi all.

My daughter broke her backpack, 3rd one this year. I'm tired of buying cheap backpacks (not cheap $ wise but the way they are made) 3 or 4 times a year. They never last.

Anyway, I have a lot of scrap material, mostly jean material, and I've decided to put myself to the test and make her a school bag.

Some things you should know.

1. I can sew, but I'm self taught and not a pro by any means. I can follow a simple pattern, but start using sewing terminology and I'm lost.

2. I have a very good sewing machine that can handle jean material, I'm the one that's the problem when it comes to anything fancy.

3. I've never done patchwork before.

4. I'm looking for an over the shoulder design, hopefully with interior pockets for pencils, crayons and other small things.

5. She's in grade two but still has to bring a lot of stuff home every night, so she needs room in the bag.

6. I need to get this done by Tuesday.

So, if anyone has any tips, a simple plan, simple instructions, pictures, I could use any help I can get.

Thanks in advance. :)
    Big Auntie Posts: 23, Reputation: 3

Apr 1, 2010, 01:31 PM

I hope it is OK to refer people to websites on this forum... Have you ever been to etsy.com? They have a sister site called Alchemy where you can post requests for custom handmade items, and then sellers bid on the opportunity to make the goods. I'm not sure if someone could help you as quickly as Tuesday, but you never know - it could be a good option if you don't get help otherwise. Good luck! Etsy :: Alchemy :: Handmade Ideas & Custom Items
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Apr 1, 2010, 01:33 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Auntie View Post