Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rockstar714 Posts: 441, Reputation: 44

Mar 10, 2010, 10:54 AM
    Controlling Bridesmaid
    I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding with 10 other bridesmaids. I'm also the wedding planner and have been working on this wedding non stop since Jan 2009. I am the only BM that has been there for all the trips to the dress shops, the wedding shows and everything. I started planning the bridal shower months ago, and the bride knew this.

All of a sudden this other BM decides that she is in charge and has just taken off and done her own thing. The bride is at an academy for her job and isn't available during the week, and weekends are spent exclusively with her fiancée.

I've talked to the MOB and she agrees with me and is worried how everything will turn out because so far the bridal shower is going super tacky.

Any suggestions on what I should do? I'm definitely putting my foot down on planning the bachelorette party (I plan parties for a living, I know what I'm doing) but I'm having trouble dealing with her. She even got mad at me because I wouldn't wear the BM dress SHE wanted me to!
    Blue Angel Posts: 266, Reputation: 51

Mar 10, 2010, 11:22 AM

The voice that really matters here is the Bride's. It's frustrating dealing with someone who thinks they're the center of the world but there's not much you can do about it unless the Bride makes her needs clear. I would suggest finding out what she wants, who she wants to do the planning, etc. If she wants to allow things to go this way let her, she's the one who will have to deal with the outcome. But definitely look into it first, maybe the Bride doesn't know this issue is happening.
    dontknownuthin Posts: 2,910, Reputation: 751
    Ultra Member

Mar 11, 2010, 12:06 AM