Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    urbanforest1 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 9, 2010, 03:23 PM
    I issued a check to a vendor in error can I collect money
    I am a contractor in California, in the beginning of December my A/P clerk handed me a stack of checks, I signed them all and they were mailed. Yesterday, my CPA while doing taxes asked about a vendor I haven't used in 2 months, they are a small 2 man corporation. I called the bank and found that the check was deposited. What can I do to get my money back?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Mar 9, 2010, 03:31 PM

While being a good business man, one has to puruse all cheques that he signs. You learn that the hard way, don't be too hasty and question EVERYTHING.

Trace the transaction back and see what this vendor did or didn't do. Could be someone in your office (?? ) compromised your vendor list somehow. Don't know the facts, just commenting and suggesting.

You will probably have to get your money back by visiting them if there was no work done to warrant that payment.

Edit: if there is a better legal answer to the OPs question, then this is my own opinion after owning a couple of small businesses and sometimes being in the same position.

On the other hand, they could be guilty of the same hasty decision.

Again, check back, and if you can't get it back personally, I guess depending on the amount,you will have to get all your ducks in a row, either sue or small claims court.

Edit: if there is a better legal answer to the OPs question, then this is my own opinion after owning a couple of small businesses and sometimes being in the same position.

Tick
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Mar 9, 2010, 04:32 PM

Have you asked the vendor to refund the check?

If they don't pay, next time you purchase something from that vendor explain that you have a credit with them which should be applicable toward that purchase.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992