Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gagirl48 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 8, 2010, 11:34 AM
    Employer slander
    I am a full time college student, holding down two part-time jobs in the state of Georgia. One employer (owner of a small business) yelled at me and accused me of stealing and said she had it on video. She called the police and after the police came and reviewed the video tape. They told her, there was no evidence I stole anything and left. She then called my second employer (manager of a well known retail chain) and, once again, accused me of stealing. My second employer called the company's loss prevention and they interviewed me for over and hour. Now I'm afraid I could possibly lose my second job as well. I'm a very good student and I work hard. I do not want to lose my second job. This woman is making false accusations and I don't know what, or if, I can do anything about it. Isn't there a law that says she can't call my other employer and make accusations that would cause me to lose my job? Is there a way to file a grievance against her?
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Mar 8, 2010, 11:46 AM

Keep in mind... YOU will have to provide the burden of proof and its not going to be cheap to sue.

Also... if you are an "AT-WILL" employee... unfortunately they can let you go for no reason more than they didn't like your hair that day. There are some very rare and specific exceptions to that.

Easy way to understand this... put yourself into the shoes of the employer, now picture any number of people (not friends) you know working for you. Now you should understand the AT-WILL part of the case. There are two sides to any issue. And very few people are irreplaceable.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Mar 8, 2010, 02:56 PM