Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tacmedic7248 Posts: 19, Reputation: 1

Mar 5, 2010, 08:26 AM
    Install ceiling fan with no ceiling electricity
    I've searched around and think I have a rough idea of what I need to do, but I need someone to clarify a few things for me.

I want to install a ceiling fan in a room I'm redoing and I have no knowledge of electrical work except on cars. Yes, I will remember to turn the power off before I do anything! :) It's a small room with three outlets and one wall switch. This switch controls the outlet on the same wall it's located on. I understand I have to get a ceiling fan brace for the fan and can install it with no problems since this room is below the attic.

Here's where my question is... I run wiring from the ceiling fan to the light switch or the outlet? If I run it to the light switch, to I hook it into the switch or am I cutting and splicing wires to make it look like a neat mess?

That's where my confusion lies and I greatly appreciate all the assistance! Thank you in advance!
    hkstroud Posts: 11,929, Reputation: 899
    Home Improvement & Construction Expert

Mar 5, 2010, 05:35 PM

Information needed.

Are both halves of the outlet controlled by the switch or is just one half controlled by the switch and the other half always hot.

Is this a 15 or 20 amp circuit?

Remove the outlet and tell us how many and what kind of cables are in the box. A wire is a wire, a cable is two or more wires in an outer covering.

Which would be easier, getting a cable down the wall to the outlet or getting a wire down the wall to the switch?

Mar 5, 2010, 08:17 PM

Thanks for the reply! The entire outlet is controlled by the switch on a 20AMP circuit. It's BX, not Romex, there's one white, one black, one bare. As far as which is easier, it's a toss up.

Mar 5, 2010, 08:37 PM