Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Markus85 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2010, 12:01 PM
    "Best friend" just an illusion?
    Hi!

At the risk of sounding like a high school junior: I'm a grad student and last year became friends with someone in my class. To me he became my best friend here and I believe it must have meant something to him too. Actually, he is almost the brother that I never had and I think we both became very attached to each other. He helped me through some problems I had with the school's administration and some job concerns, as I am a person that worries A LOT about everyone and everything.

This year we moved in together and I think we're great room mates: we both keep the apt. clean and we hardly see each other in the apt as we stick to our rooms. Nevertheless he is always reserved and hardly ever seems to want to hang out anymore like last year. And when we do things together, we usually hang out with mutual friends. He doesn't talk to me generally when other friends are there. And he enjoys making fun of me for various things in front of our friends--and he only does it to me. I have no problem with rough jokes and humor but over the last semester I felt he was putting me down a lot. I've talked to him and he says nothing has changed. He knows how I feel about our friendship but he never said or showed that he even cared I exist in the past few months, while I try to go out of my way to do anything and everything for my friends.