Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    KSeverson Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2010, 01:11 AM
    House training and Crate Training?
    I just rescued a dog from the animal shelter. I'm new to this and have a few questions. He has been good with letting us know at times that he needs to go potty. He has gone a few times outside. But he has also peed and pooped in the house as well. He has only pooped when were gone. But he has peed while we are here. We try to watch and see his sign but he seems to pee suddenly. I've been trying to crate train him and he seemed to like the crate. But tonight we had to work and he was alone for almost 5 hours. We lured him into his crate with treats. He pooped and peed all over his crate and it was a mess to clean up! We took him outside twice before we left but he wouldn't go outside. I did have food and water in the crate for him since we would be gone over dinner time. He has been sleeping in our bed with us. I'm wondering if I make him go in his crate tonight would that help him associate that as his bed and make him not pee or poop in there? Or should we just let him roam free when were gone and he will some day learn to only pee or poop outside? Tomorrow he will have to be home alone for 5 hours again because of work... I'm not sure if I should let him roam free or get him in his crate again? Please help... I'm so new to all this! Thank you
    Catsmine Posts: 3,826, Reputation: 739
    Pest Control Expert

Feb 20, 2010, 08:11 AM

I'm a big fan of the crate for overnight. It's a safe warm place for them to "den up." Leaving it available in the daytime for naps would be ideal, unless you have another animal.