Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ProudMomma Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Feb 17, 2010, 01:46 PM
    Lpn? Rn? Pta?
    Hi all, I'm trying to make a huge decision. I'm 28, have a 19 month old, currently working at a job that I hate, making $12.64 per hour. So this is why I am back in school. I have my AA degree, and originally I was thinking of going in the PTA program, have a few prereqs left.. (4 to be exact), although I'm reading and for Orlando, FL, I was finding that PTA's aren't making a whole lot of money unless you are working in a nursing home or in someone's home. I don't want that. Then I thought of going to school to be an LPN (would have to take 4 classes to get into that program), then going through thath program for 1 year, then get into the RN program career track. Which is only 1 year, but then on top of that, that is 7 MORE prereqs I would need to get into the RN. Then I thought of getting my AS as an RN. Which would be 7 prereq classes, then the 2 years of the program. The issues I am facing which might turn me completely off are dealing with is that I cannot handle changing diapers of a 90 year old man, or anything gross like vomit. I have a terrible gag reflux. I have Barretts Esophogas, I'm not sure if it's related, but I haven't always been this way. Needles don't bother me. I don't want to miss a whole lot of time with my son, but at the same time, I am trying to better our lives. Any advice at all would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks for listening :)
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Feb 17, 2010, 02:11 PM

Hi ProudMomma. If you are thinking of any of those programmes, then the schooling necessary means missing a lot of time with your son, but if you want to better yourself then you would have to do it.

Why don't you do it this way, wait until your son is in kindergarten, or old enough for a good daycare center where he can learn socializing (which would benefit the both of you for the maturity level).