Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tommychan Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 11, 2010, 02:08 PM
    How many GPA do I need to get to go to Harvard University?
    How many GPA do I need to get to go to Harvard University?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 11, 2010, 02:24 PM

You need a very good GPA- what's yours? Also outstanding test scores (GRE, Last, GMAT, or whatever is appropriate for your intended field of study). What do you plan to study?

Feb 15, 2010, 11:17 AM

Well, I have 3.55 GPA and I want to be an architect. I'm still a sophomore and I just want to know that I can go to Harvard or not.
    Expert

Feb 15, 2010, 11:45 AM

To be clear - you are a sophomore in college, and looking to attend Harvard for their graduate school in architecture, right?

A 3.55 GPA doesn't exclude you by any means. Depending on where you're going for undergrad that can be a very respectable GPA. But you'll have to do quite well on the GREs. If you can work get closer to 4.0 in your junoir and senior years you'll obviously have a better shot at whatever schools you want to apply to.

I assume that your college does not have an architecture major. My advice is to take as many design-reated courses as possible - and ace them. Also be sure to do well in math and physics. And if your school offers engineering mechanics take that as well - architects need to know what "stress" and "strain" are all about. Also get summer jobs in the architcture field so you can demonstrate applicable experience.

Finally - while it's a good thing to have a goal like Harvard, keep in mind that there are many other top tier schools out here. Here's a list to look over: 2010 United States Best Architecture Schools | ArchDaily If it's the Ivy League you're set on, be sure to take a look at Cornell University.

Feb 15, 2010, 02:41 PM