Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ADW76 Posts: 16, Reputation: 1

Nov 20, 2006, 08:00 AM
    Child Custody
    This is my first time to this site. I have noticed that there are several different questions about parents that abuse drugs and are in danger of losing custody. My question is similar. First of all, I was addicted to pain pills. I don't have a problem admitting that. But for over a year now I have been prescribed to methadone. I have been subjected to drug test for the past year and have tested clean every time. I have a full time job (I didn't when I was using) and I take very good care of my daughter. She is my WORLD!! I was served papers last week from her father. He wants custody of my daughter who he hasn't seen since she was 2 weeks old (his choice). My question is will the courts look down on me for taking methadone? I have a lawyer and am going to see her on Friday to discuss this, but I am dying at the thought of losing my daughter.
    tinkerbell77 Posts: 96, Reputation: 6

Nov 27, 2006, 02:18 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by ADW76
    This is my first time to this site. I have noticed that there are several different questions about parents that abuse drugs and are in danger of losing custody. My question is similar. First of all, I was addicted to pain pills. I don't have a problem admitting that. But for over a year now I have been prescribed to methadone. I have been subjected to drug test for the past year and have tested clean every time. I have a full time job (I didn't when I was using) and I take very good care of my daughter. She is my WORLD!!! I was served papers last week from her father. He wants custody of my daughter who he hasn't seen since she was 2 weeks old (his choice). My question is will the courts look down on me for taking methadone? I have a lawyer and am going to see her on Friday to discuss this, but I am dying at the thought of losing my daughter.