Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    AaronWrestle Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Jan 17, 2010, 04:21 AM
    Losing Weight - 16yo boy
    Okay first off I'm a 5foot6 sophomore in high school.

I wrestle on my varsity team at 119lbs. I only cut down from my normal weight of about 128 pounds. That's not really much. My weight decent plan tells me I can go to 110 pounds.

We only have 35% of the season left, but I am currently 122 lbs.

If I got to 112, I could have a 2lb weight allowance and wrestle 114.

I don't want to wrestle at 119 because I'm tired of being in such good of shape, and still having kids be almost 2x my size, its unreal and breaks my spirit.

I heard of putting on layers of sweats and getting in hot shower to lose weight, and of course not eating and blah blah what not.

I need to lose weight fast, ill have to eat at least 500 calories every 2 days. I get hungry easily and its hard for me to manage.

How can I lose 10 pounds?

What are good weight cutting exercises? My school has terrible coaching, no trainers, nothing special so I need to do this on my own.
    Eileen G Posts: 1,571, Reputation: 286
    Ultra Member

Jan 17, 2010, 03:13 PM

To start with, be realistic, you can't go too low or you will lose all fitness. At 5'6", 110 is just stupid.

500 cals in two days is crazy low. You can't fight on that level.

My local taekwondo club is full of champions, they always take home medals from the World and European championships. What they do is to use carb cycling to drop weight to make their class without affecting fighting ability. This means that they eat mostly low carb (so no cereals, bread, sugar, pasta, rice, cake, soda, cookies etc) They base meals on eggs, oily fish, fresh meat and some green vegetables.

Then, before each workout, they eat a small carb meal, something like oatmeal or brown rice, enough to supply energy for the training session. After the workout, they'll have a small protein and carb meal, then it's back to low carb.