Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    clueless777 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 10, 2010, 10:25 PM
    Resident alien with non-resident spouse - tax filing status
    I'm a resident alien that got married in 2007 but my spouse lives in another country. I've continued filing as single because we were married in another country. Can I amend my past returns? Can I now file as married filing jointly? My spouse does not work. Would this affect future immigration efforts?
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Jan 11, 2010, 05:54 AM

Yes, you can file joint return as residents. You must both declare worldwide income. Attach W-7 (ITIN application) with your tax return.

You should file joint return for 2009 and after you get ITIN, you can amend your past returns.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 11, 2010, 10:50 AM
    Not that you can amend back to 2006 (and the 2006 amendment MUST be file no later than 15 April 2010).

Any tax return for 2005 or earlier CANNOT be amended for a refund due to the three-year statute of limitation for claiming refunds.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Can I Jointly file tax return with spouse (resident alien & non resident alien) [ 1 Answers ]

I am in H1B worked in two different states in 2008 01Jan08 - 25Feb08 - Texas 05May08 - 13Aug08 - Texas 14Aug08 - 31Dec08- Illinois Note: march-April in India Spouse moved to US on 24 Oct 2008 in H1B got SSN in nov and doesn't have W2 for 2008 1. As per substantial presence test myself...

Resident alein or non resident alien and filing status [ 1 Answers ]