Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    broadwayltd Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2006, 07:06 AM
    Wrongful termination
    My former employer, fired me for allegedly violating a security rule. I was terminated for plugging a non corporate portable into the Corporate network. I have been using my Macintosh openly, for over NINE MONTHS, in plain sight of all my peers and management and no one ever told me to stop. Several managers, including the two who released me looked over my shoulder several times while I was trouble shooting issues from my Mac. I use this portable as my main source of information as all my notes for doing my job are on this machine. I only have this machine because JPMC does not supply internet access or home pc's for employees when they are on call. It was used only for business. The last six months of my employment, I was on call every day. Literally all day 24/7 as there are only two people managing the TSM backup systems for Card Services. I have received great performance reviews and until the day before I was fired there was NEVER any discussion or written orders to stop using my MAC at work.:confused:
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 14, 2006, 07:15 AM
    My question is; was there a published rule about use of non corporate equipment before you started using this machine? If so, and you started using the machine without getting express and written permission then you probably do not have a case.

Any case you have hinges on what positions your managers hold with respect to corporate security. If they are not involved in netowrk security. Then its probably the security people were not aware and just caught on. While they should have defended you, they were probably more concerned for their own jobs. However, if those reposnsible for network security were aware of your usage and didn't take immediate action, then you might have a case.