Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    heronk38 Posts: 13, Reputation: 1

Dec 17, 2009, 03:45 PM
    Having friend issues... Any advice?
    okay, so here's the scoop. I'm a freshman and high school drama has erupted full force upon me this year. With family issues and guy problems, the LAST thing I need it to be constantly bashed, emabarassed, hurt, controlled, and depended on so heavily by one of my best friends.

He is so dependent on me. He thinks it's up to me to supply him with something to do all the time. He has other friends, but he won't go to them. He also always comes up to me when I'm with other friends, says something degrading and embarrassing about me, and then turns the topic to him and lets me there to be left out of my own group of friends. He also verbally bashes me every time he's depressed, which is all the time.

I've told him so many times how I felt about this, and he says he has no way of controlling it, and that he just doesn't know how to stop. So recently I told him to just back off for a few weeks and we'll see how things are after then. But I don't know what to do. I mean, it's so painful to be around him, but when he's happy, he's a good friend.

does anyone have any advice for how I should handle this? Please and thanks! =(
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Dec 17, 2009, 03:55 PM

Perhaps use a lot of humor? When he disses you, turn it around into a positive ("Your hair looks weird today." "Hmmm, I wonder if I can turn it into a Halloween idea for next year."). When he's depressed, find subjects that you know interest him and ask open-ended questions.
    Devorameira Posts: 2,461, Reputation: 981
    Ultra Member

Dec 17, 2009, 04:33 PM