Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    davidmorrow@ charter.net Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 13, 2009, 09:12 AM
    How to wire heater blower motor
    I am rewiring a Rudd Heater Blower motor. 240v 3 speed motor and I am trying to wire it. It doesn't matter how I wire it, as soon as I hit the 240v breaker by the unit the motor runs. I have even disconnected the thermostat totally and the motor runs constant. I am not an electrician.(Obviously) Just a poor slob trying to save $300.00 during christmas.
    Wiring coming from unit as follows:
    Black - High
    Red - Low
    Orange - power?

On the Blower motor (Marathon Electric X1001)
    labeled as follows:
    White - common (L1)
    Black - high (L2)
    Blue - medium ( not used)
    Red - Low

The motor that came off was a different brand and no wiring diagram and colors were slightly different.
    Can somebody point me in the right direction? I am very confused at this point. The old motor non functional. Thanks
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

Dec 13, 2009, 09:22 AM
    This might help but I think you have a 120 volt motor instead of a 240 volt motor. The white wire is a common on 120 volt motors only. Now if you can pick up a ground for that 120 volt motor you might be able to get it to work BUT you really would be better off with the correct motor.
    Attached Images
  1. File Type: pdf Doc2.pdf (20.1 KB, 162 views)
    hvac1000 Posts: 14,540, Reputation: 435
    Heating & Air Conditioning Expert

Dec 13, 2009, 09:29 AM
    If the Marathon motor is the one you are trying to install it is probably a 120 volt motor you really need a 240 volt motor. Note you should also have brown and brown with a white tracer for the motor run capacitor. Can you post pictures of what you have now and what was there?

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search