Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    omgtoast Posts: 27, Reputation: 3

Dec 2, 2009, 11:51 AM
    What to say?
    I am in my junior year in university, and I am a theater student.

In a passing conversation (context: customers at my register at work making small talk), people will ask me
    "Oh, what do you go to school for?"
    And I reply, "I am going to teach high school Shakespeare and theater."
    Too often, their response is one of the following three:

"Theater? That's a dead-end career. Why not do something useful, like accounting/business/nursing/etc?"
    "Theater? Really? You're so much smarter than that. That's so lazy. Why do you want to be a starving artist?"
    And this one, that I look forward to hearing every day as a teacher:
    "You know what they say: those who can't, teach."

It's offensive beyond words: People have this preconceived notion of what the Theater is all about, and they don't want to hear otherwise. In fact, I've had people who will stand and argue with me on it if I dare to disagree with them.

People who say this, the ones who know me better, ignore the stack of playbills I have from shows I've built/directed/performed in. The ones who say I'm lazy or working beneath my mental capacity ignore my 3.4 GPA, the essays, the books, the studying, and the long hours I've put in on the set...

I'm tired of explaining myself to people; Is there a nicer way to say to somebody, "If you're just going to stand there and trash on my career, get the *explicative* out of my face"?
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Dec 2, 2009, 12:05 PM