Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lil_moani Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Nov 27, 2009, 07:47 PM
    25 yr old female wanting 2 join the marines
    hello ill try to make this short and simple but for anyone that can give me some type of advice would be helpful... I'm a 25 yr old female been wanting to join the marines since I was 21 but due to family not wanting me to I tried to them but enough is enough... is there any way a 25 yr old with no rotc or college degree can go in as a lcpl? Or the fact that I'm a correctional officer can they give some type of credits due to your civi job? And also one more thing I'm also in great shape I'm 5'0 120 but I had one caturact in my left eye but does not affect my vision what so ever even with being a correctional officer I know I would need a medical waiver even if the cateract won't grow at all. Or what would I have to do to become an officer in the marines if I can go to school and still go active that's if the age of going in active is still 29... anyone help I'm lost any advice would help.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 27, 2009, 08:06 PM

You will need to go to school if you want to move up in rank going in.

I would have to wonder what correctional department you work for, that requires a waviior for a minor eye issue, The ones I have worked for, basically if you can breath you will get hired.

But why the need for rank early, rank comes pretty good if you stay in.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Nov 27, 2009, 08:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by lil_moani View Post
    Or what would i have to do to become an officer in the marines if i can go to school and still go active that's if the age of going in active is still 29.....anyone help i'm lost any advice would help.
    Hello lil:

There are all sorts of college programs for enlisted people once you're in.

excon
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 27, 2009, 09:14 PM